DIMO Expands Its Presence To Puttalam



Puttalam is situated in a very strategic location. It connects the A3 (Puttalam-Colombo via Negombo), the A10 (Puttalam-Kandy via Kurunegala) and the A12 (Puttalam-Trincomalee via Anuradhapura) road networks. In addition, it is in the center of the coconut triangle and is the second largest coconut producer of the country. Puttalam is also the second largest salt producer in the country and hosts one of the largest cement factories in the country. Puttalam is also famous for shrimp farming and agriculture.

Considering the economic importance of this district, Diesel & Motor Engineering (DIMO) recently opened their latest branch at Puttalam. The new DIMO Puttalam Branch is situated along the main Colombo-Puttalam road, in close proximity to the town.

The new branch was opened by Ranjith Pandithage (Chairman – DIMO), Gahanath Pandithage (CEO – DIMO), Vijitha Bandara (GM – TATA Division), Arup Baruah (Country Manager – TATA Motors) and Anura Wijesinghe (Manager – DIMO Kurunegala Branch). Apart from the TATA commercial and passenger vehicles, the branch also markets Mercedes-Benz passenger cars and trucks, Mahindra tractors, Claas harvesters, Osram lighting, Bosch power tools, Bosch Automotive products, Siemens Delta vega switches, Komatsu heavy machinery, MRF tyres, Kumho tyres and TATA genuine spares for all models.

In 1939 DIMO started as a purely automobile company and today has diversified into many facets of engineering including power engineering, medical equipment, building technologies, power tools, lighting, construction machinery and warehouse solutions. The relationship between DIMO and TATA Motors celebrated 50 years in 2011, which was a historic milestone for two giants in the automobile field.

Apart from Puttalam, DIMO branches can be found in Akkaraipattu, Ambalangoda, Ambalantota, Ampara, Anuradhapura, Balagolla, Colombo, Dambulla, Embilipitiya, Hatton, Horana, Jaffna, Kandy, Kurunagala, Mannar, Matara, Monaragala, Nikawaratiya, Padaviya, Piliyandala, Ratnapura, Trincomalee, Vavuniya, Welimada and Yakkala.

