AWS Academy Award Ceremony



October 2005 batch. Seated L-R: Priyanthi Ratwatte, Li/ani Munasinghe, Neomi Ferdinand, Anne Wijesinghe (Principal), Naomie de Silva, Fadhiya Saleem, Padma Wijetunga. Standing first raw: Ruvini Ramanayake, Kumari Kodippili, Mashnocn Hazeem, Jeevani Karunathilaka, Punsara Colonne, Vasantha Seneviratne, Jenifer Munion, Ruvini Meegahage, Kalani Gunawardene, Mihikala Ranaweera. Standing second raw: Anoma Warakapitiya, Charmaine Thomas, Nusra Nawaz Ishfaq, Thusitha Nanayakkara, Petronella Samarawickrama, Shabnam Ismail, Lakshmi Mohotti, Nazreen Saurjah, Hasna Naeem. (Absent: Ma/kanthi de Alwis, Jesmin Rafiudeen)

The Teacher Training Center of the AWS Academy of English Language & Speech held two separate award ceremonies recently at the academy premises. Certificates were presented to those who successfully completed the first level of the Academy's Teacher Training Program.

The academy, which was founded in 1983 by Anne Wijesinghe, gives training in grammar, writing skills, poetry, drama, public speaking, spoken English. Not only are participants given lecture notes, practical workshop experience etc., they are also given AWS licensed classroom teaching material so they have access to quality material and evaluation.

To join Level 1 of the program, participants need fluency in written and spoken English and love for children. Those who complete Level 1 are given the support needed to start their own centers and begin teaching the introductory grades. They then have the ability to move on to the next level of training while generating an income. According to Wijesinghe, the program is rigorous, regular and continous.

The branch network activities of AWS started in 2004 and there are 25 franchise centers and 250 registered teachers islandwide. The AWS certificate has been recognized by international schools, and several AWS trained teachers are employed as language and elocution teachers in these schools. AWS will hold its annual award ceremony and concert in February 2006 at the Lionel Wendt Auditorium.



July 2005 batch. Seated L-R: Chamarie Dumitha Dias, Preenie Pinto, Chauntelle Serpanchy, Anne Wijesinghe (Principal}, Needra Dassanayake, 5hanthikusum Perera, Vinitha Siriwardana. Standing L-R: Mahesha Dilrukshi, Gothami Nagodavithana, Sumudhu Subhagya Priyanga Devendra, Samali Du/ma Amarasinghe, Damayanthi Su[]]ngika Jirasinghe, Regina Karunaratne, Fathima Sara Zahir, Sudarshi Yapa, Fathima Mena/ Maharocl (Absent: Mariya Kamrudeen, Jilitha Priyangani Mahanama Rajapaksha)