People's Bank Charters a Toastmasters Club for Employee Development



People's Bank Toastmasters Club Executive Committee Members and Charter Members with Sujeewa Rajapakse, Chairman, People's Bank and Clive Fonseka, Acting Chief Executive Officer/General Manager of People's Bank.



Sujeewa Rajapakse, Chairman, People's Bank addressing the gathering.

People's Bank has launched a Toastmasters Club to allow its employees to develop their leadership and communication skills.

The People's Bank Toastmasters Club will enable its members to enhance their soft skills, preparing them for future leadership positions within the bank.

Sujeewa Rajapakse, Chairman of People's Bank was the Chief Guest at the ceremony, which was graced by the Past International President of Toastmasters (for the year 2017/18), Toastmaster Balraj Arunasalam as the Guest of Honour. Clive Fonseka, Acting Chief Executive Officer and General Manager of People's Bank, other Toastmasters of D82, including other district officials, members of Toastmasters, and members of the sponsor club, The Colombo Toastmasters Club, were present at the ceremony along with several special invitees from People's Bank Corporate Management and Executive Management.

Sujeewa Rajapakse, Chairman of People's Bank, addressing the gathering, emphasized the importance of improving employees' soft skills to develop them as future leaders of the bank.

While congratulating the Charter Members and the newly appointed Executive Committee Members of the club, he requested them to use this opportunity to improve themselves and other employees of the bank.

The Guest of Honour and the Keynote Speaker of the ceremony Toastmaster Balraj Arunasalam, the Past International President, in his speech on "Communication for Leadership", enlightened the audience with the importance of appropriate communication skills to perform as an outstanding leader.

The elected office bearers of People's Bank Toastmasters Club for the Toastmaster year 2022/2023 - TM Dhunisha Athulathmudali, President, TM Chamari Perera, Vice President - Education, TM Nadeesha Tennakoon, Vice President - Membership, TM Mangala Kariyawasam, Vice President - Public Relations, TM Indrani Rodrigo, Secretary, TM Maagha Senevirathne, Treasurer and the TM Ravin De Silva, the Sergeant At Arms.