Honorable Ranil Wickremesinghe Sworn in as the Eighth Executive President of Sri Lanka in the Parliamentary Complex



Honorable Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in as the Eighth Executive President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka in front of Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya in the Parliamentary Complex.

Speaker Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Leader of the Opposition Hon. Sajith Premadasa, Member of Parliament Hon. Dallas Alahapperuma and a group of Ministers and Members of Parliament and the First Lady Prof. Maithrie Wickramasinghe were present. The secret ballot was held to elect a succeeding president to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and the Acting President Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe was elected as the succeeding President by getting 134 votes.



President Ranil Wickremesinghe arrives to the Parliament.



President with Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena and Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake.



President Ranil Wickremesinghe being welcomed by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena and Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake.



President signs infront of Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya.



President Ranil Wickremesinghe takes oath as the Eigth Executive President.



President Ranil Wickremesinghe sworn in as the Eigth Executive President by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya in the Parliamentary Complex.



General G.D.H. Kamal Gunaratne (Retd), Secretary of Defence; Leader of the House and Education Minister Susil Premajayantha; MP Chamal Rajapaksa; and Wijayadasa Rajapaksa, Minister of Justice, Prison Affairs and Constitutional Reforms.



MP Ajith Rajapakse and MP Lakshman Kiriella.



First Lady Prof. Maithrie Wickramasinghe.



Sagara Kariyawasam, Deputy Government Whip; MP Janaka Bandara; Hon. Bandula Gunawardana.



Noel Selvanayagam; Akila Viraj Kariyawasam; Ranga Bandara; Sagala Ratnayake; and Wajira Abeywardena.