# 19. Hemas Holdings





Left: **Husein Esufally**, Chairman/Non-Executive Director. Right: **Kasturi Chellaraja Wilson**, CEO/Executive Director

Hemas has always stepped forward in times of national need and it has an essential role to play through its businesses in the Healthcare and Consumer spaces.

### Continuous focus on working capital efficiencies rewarded

A high focus on volume-led growth cost optimization initiatives to maximize value, and agile management of teams drove the Hemas Group to successfully deliver a solid performance in 2020/21. The Group recorded revenue of Rs. 64.5 billion, a growth of 7.4% over the previous year. An operating profit of Rs. 6.1 billion and earnings of Rs. 3.3 billion were reported, recording a robust year-on-year growth of 71.6% and 163.3%, respectively.

The Group delivered a resilient performance by focusing on working capital efficiencies, portfolio rationalization, and cost optimization. The dual strategy identified an opportunity to increase consumer consciousness regarding health and hygiene, which steered an impressive performance.

#### Championing robust health and wellbeing across the nation

The Hemas purpose focuses on enriching the lives of communities as it supports robust health across the country, bringing daily moments of joy and creating a more inclusive world where no child is left behind.

#### Towards a healthy future

The Group will continue to invest in building a business with a robust and sustainable portfolio of Consumer Brands and Healthcare products and services while focusing on re-energized innovation and internationalization. The Group plans to develop and design products for local and international markets while investing in future-oriented adjacencies that leverage its core strengths in Consumer Brands and Healthcare.

**Board Of Directors** 

**Husein Esufally** 

Chairman/Non-Executive Director

Kasturi Chellaraja Wilson

**CEO/Executive Director** 

1. Abbas Esufally

**Non-Executive Director** 

2. Murtaza Esufally

**Non-Executive Director** 

3. Imtiaz Esufally

**Non-Executive Director** 

4. Shaktha Amaratunga

**Independent Non-Executive Director** 

5. Jyotindra Trivedi

**Independent Non-Executive Director** 

## 6. Anura Ekanayake

**Independent Non-Executive Director** 

7. Sriyan de Silva Wijeyeratne

**Executive Director**