DIMO Hosts MercedesTrophy At Trincomalee



The MercedesTrophy, took place at the Eagles' Golf Links China recently. This tournament was organised by the Diesel and Motor Engineering (DIMO) and participation was exclusively for Mercedes-Benz, Jeep and Chrysler owners.

The tournament had 72 players, playing in four handicap groups (Group A Handicap – 0-12, Group B Handicap – 13-20, Group C Handicap – 21-24, Group D Handicap Ladies – 36). Players and their partners were given accommodation from 28th June to 30th June at Chaaya Blu, Trincomalee.

This event was the occasion where DIMO introduced the all new A-Class Mercedes-Benz range to Sri Lanka. The vehicles were displayed at the hotel and the golf club, where customers had the opportunity of test driving the cars and experiencing the vehicles first hand.

The Trincomalee town and the access roads towards China Bay harbour, the Eagles Golf Links driveway, and the Nilaveli road were decorated with Mercedes-Benz and DIMO flags – highlighting the presence in North East. The awards ceremony was held on the beach at Chaaya Blu. Air Marshal Harsha Abeywickrama, Commander of the Sri Lanka Air Force was the guest of honour at the awards ceremony. Ranjith Pandithage, Gahanath Pandithage, Channa Weerawardena, Suresh Gooneratne and Rajeev Pandithage represented DIMO at the event.

"The day was a great success," said Ranjith Pandithage. "Our customers really enjoyed a great test of their golfing skills at Eagles Golf Links and then were able to relax afterwards at the hotel with their colleagues. We took the opportunity to unveil the stunning new A-Class and demonstrate a number of other models in the range. I was really pleased with the organising of the event, it truly was starclass!"

The winners of the MercedesTrophy are as follows. Group A (Winner – Sidath Wettimuny, 1st Runner-Up – Arjun Fernando, 2nd Runner-Up – Ivor Maharoof); Group B (Winner – Capt. Milinda Ratnayake, 1st Runner Up – Sunil Udalagama, 2nd Runner Up – Eraj Gunaratne); Group C (Winner – Prasanna Goonetilleke, 1st Runner-Up – S Jegatheeswaran, 2nd Runner Up – Ton Sinh Thanh); Group D (Winner – Usha de Silva, 1st Runner Up – Niloo Jayathilake); Nearest to the Pin (Winner – Kushal Johnpillai); Longest Drive (Winner – Thusith Wijesinghe)